The Melon is an acroterion (a sculpted decorative feature mounted at the apex of the plinth of a building) in sandstone, modelled in twelve segments, hence its name, and it is surmounted by a copy of the alabarda of San Sergio.
In 1422 the melon was taken down and the bell tower was replaced with a flattened-pyramid-shaped tiled roof. From that day on, the Melon began its pilgrimage. It has been placed on a roadside, exhibited in a museum, showcased in a niche and also inside in building.
It has now been restored and can be admired at the entrance of the San Giusto castle.